Connect with us


Juventus join Chelsea & others at Club World Cup + How it works

Share this article:
Picture Credit: Chelsea Pulse/Daily Mail- Instagram

Juventus have become the 10th UEFA team to qualify for the expanded FIFA Club World Cup which takes place in the United States.

Following Napoli’s elimination from this seasons Champions League, Juventus have now ensured they will finish above Napoli in the rankings and will join Chelsea, Real Madrid, Manchester City, Bayern Munich, PSG, Inter, Porto, Benfica and Borussia Dortmund.

When does the tournament start?

The tournament begins June 15th, the venues have yet to be confirmed but we do know it will be in the United States. The final will be on July 13th.

How does the Club World Cup work?

Similar to the international World Cup, the groups will be divided into eight groups of four. The top two from each group will qualify for the round of 16. In total teams who make the final will play a total of 7 matches across a 29 day period.

Who has qualified? 

Chelsea were the first team to qualify for the tournament back in 2021 for winning the UEFA Champions League. Chelsea will be joined by the 2022, 2023 and 2024 Champions League winners as well as the top 8 coefficient sides within the UEFA confederation.

Other confederations have similar qualifying procedures. As it stands the teams who have officially made it are:

UEFA: Chelsea, Real Madrid, Manchester City, UCL 2024 Winners, Bayern Munich, PSG, Inter, Porto, Benfica, Borussia Dortmund, Juventus, TBC

CAF: Al Ahly SC, Wydad AC, TBC, TBC

AFC: Al Hilal SFC, Urawa Red Diamonds, TBC, TBC

CONCACAF: CF Monterrey, Seattle Sounders, Club León, TBC.

OFC: Auckland City

CONMEBOL: Palmeiras, Flamengo, Fluminense, TBC, TBC, TBC

Host Country: TBC

Share this article:
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News